Notation Options dialog

The Notation Options dialog provides multiple options that allow you to make changes that affect the way music is notated for each flow by default.

The changes that you can make affect the following:

  • Note and rest grouping, such as the handling of syncopated rhythms or of different rhythms in different time signatures

  • Voices, such as the sharing of noteheads among voices or the order in which multiple voices are tucked together

  • Accidentals, such as the handling of cautionary accidentals

  • Transposition, such as the handling of key signatures in transposing instruments

  • Percussion kits, such as the handling of multiple voices in a single percussion kit

Tip

If you want to make direct changes to notes and notations, you can use the different options in the Properties panel.

You can open Notation Options in any of the following ways:

  • Press Ctrl/Cmd-Shift-N in any mode.

  • Choose Write > Notation Options in Write mode or Setup > Notation Options in Setup mode.

  • Click Notation Options in the Flows panel in Setup mode.

Figure: Notation Options

The Notation Options dialog contains the following:

  1. Page list

    Contains the categories of options that you can view and change in the dialog, divided into pages. When you click a page in this list, any applicable section titles appear below the page in the page list.

  2. Section titles

    Shows the titles of any sections on the selected page. You can click these section titles to navigate directly to that section of the page.

  3. Section

    Pages are divided into sections, which can contain multiple options. Sections that contain many options are divided into subsections. For options that have multiple possible settings, the current setting is highlighted.

  4. Flows list

    Contains all the flows in your project. You can select one, multiple, or all flows. You can select multiple flows in any of the following ways:

    • Click Select All in the action bar to select all flows in the project.

    • Ctrl/Cmd-click to select multiple flows.

    • Shift-click to select multiple adjacent flows.

  5. Select All

    Allows you to select all flows in the Flows list.

  6. Save as Default/Remove Saved Defaults

    This button has different functions depending on whether you have existing saved defaults.

    • Save as Default saves all options currently set in the dialog as the default for new projects.

    • Remove Saved Defaults deletes your previous saved defaults without resetting the options in the current project. After removing your saved defaults, all future projects start with the default factory settings. If you have existing saved defaults, you can access Remove Saved Defaults by pressing Alt.

  7. Reset to Factory/Reset to Saved Defaults

    This button has different functions depending on whether you have existing saved defaults.

    • If you have no saved defaults, Reset to Factory resets all the options in the dialog back to the default factory settings.

    • If you have existing saved defaults, Reset to Saved Defaults resets all the options in the dialog back to your saved defaults. You can access Reset to Factory instead by pressing Alt. Resetting options back to the default factory settings only affects the current project and does not delete your saved defaults, meaning future projects start with your saved defaults.